SOUTH DAKOTA VETERINARY MEDICAL ASSOCIATION AWARDS

It is time to recognize those who support the veterinary profession with their outstanding work and contributions. Please nominate a colleague for one of the awards presented by SDVMA to recognize excellence in veterinary medicine.

Do you know a veterinarian, veterinary technician or industry representative that has made an impact on veterinary medicine? Please nominate that person for one of the SDVMA's awards! There are many people who help make the veterinary profession great, and it is important to recognize these contributions. **The deadline for the nominations is July 10, 2025.** Please submit the nomination(s) on the attached form to ensure that we recognize the best of veterinary medicine.

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD

This award is made to an individual who has brought distinction to the veterinary profession through his/her devotion to the care and well-being of animals, support for the profession, and contributions to the community. This individual exemplifies the profession, both personally and professionally, through support of veterinary medicine, research, colleagues, and/or students and through civic participation. This individual's contributions have advanced the profession and serve as an inspiration to veterinarians and the clients they serve.

VETERINARIAN OF THE YEAR

This award is made annually to an SDVMA member who has contributed significantly to the veterinary profession and to the animals and clients he/she serves. The award recognizes a member for service and accomplishments benefitting the profession of veterinary medicine.

EMERGING LEADER AWARD

This award is made to an SDVMA member who graduated from veterinary school within the last 10 years and has displayed outstanding accomplishments in veterinary research, private practice, regulatory services, civic activities, academia, and/or organized veterinary medicine.

OUTSTANDING VETERINARY TECHNICIAN AWARD

This award is made to a registered veterinary technician who has provided outstanding support to veterinary medicine through dedication to the care and wellbeing of animals and professional knowledge and execution in service to the profession.

BILL DAVIS MEMORIAL AWARD

This award is given annually to a sales representative of a veterinary supply company who has demonstrated an unusual degree of service and assistance to veterinarians and the veterinary profession in South Dakota.



South Dakota Veterinary Medical Association PO Box 129, Pierre, SD 57501 sdvma@sdvetmed.org www.sdvetmed.org



SDVMA AWARDS



Distinguished Service Award Veterinarian of the Year Emerging Leader Award Outstanding Veterinary Technician Award Bill Davis Memorial Award

SOUTH DAKOTA VETERINARY MEDICAL ASSOCIATION AWARDS

Name of nominee	City		AWARD	
Nominated for: (check one)	 Distinguished Service Award Veterinarian of the Year Emerging Leader Award 		 Outstanding Veterinary Technician Award Bill Davis Memorial Award 	
Name of nominator				
Address				
City	State	Zip		
Please provide a narrative	of your nomination. (attach additic	xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx	×	
×~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~	~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~	*******		

Nominators are encouraged to be thorough. The following items are useful in the evaluation process and may be attached:

• Biography, Resume, or Curriculum Vitae of Nominee

• Letters of Support for Nomination

• Any additional supporting documentation

South Dakota Veterinary Medical Association PO Box 129, Pierre, SD 57501 Email: sdvma@sdvetmed.org



Past SDVMA Award Winners

	Veteri	narian of the Year			
First Year of Award - 1967					
1967 Glenn Duncan	1982 Paul Hohman	1997 Robert Christensen	2012 John Voegeli		
1968 Harold Severson	1983 Keith Johnson	1998 Sam Holland	2013 James Stangle		
1969 Kenneth Sadler	1984 Norman Meriweather	1999 Steve Tornberg	2014 John Ismay		
1970 M.D. Mitchell	1985 Peter Preheim	2000 James Wasson	2015 Jim McKnight		
1971 James T. Brown	1986 William sessions	2001 Gary Straight	2016 Edward Larson		
1972	1987 Robert Snyder	2002 Peggy Behrens	2017 William & Norma Headlee		
1973	1988 Lee Johnson	2003 David Zeman	2018 Ron Good		
1974	1989 Clyde Kirkbride	2004 Bruce Teachout	2019 Dale Miskimins		
1975	1990 Darrell Johnson	2005 Vicky Wilkey	2020 Heidi Hanson		
1976 Lee Dorwart	1991 Daryl Thorpe	2006 Fred Hubbard	2021 Eric Heath		
1977 Jim Bailey	1992 Arnold Gertonson	2007 James Myers	2022 Holly Roe-Johnson		
1978 Wendell Peden	1993 John Thomson	2008 Kevin Klozenbucher	2023 Steve Smith		
1979 M.W. Vorhies	1994 George Twitero	2009 Chris Chase	2024 Stephanie Stevens		
1980 Gene Monfore	1995 Ken Schulte	2010 Russ Daly			
1981 Duane Hughes	1996 Paul Wittenberg	2011 Jim Bain			
		ris Memorial Award Year of Award - 1989			
1989 Don Forness	1998 Craig Dybedahl	2007 Lowell Malard	2016 Carter Johnson		
1990 Bob Anderson	1999 Randy Larson	2008 Ron Federick	2017 Jim Feller		
1991 Jake Blackstone	2000 Wayne Sheldon	2009 Nate Fredrickson	2018 Dana Ramm		
1992 Don & Jack Lawrenson	2001 Rich Konechne	2010 Carter Johnson	2019 Mike Palmer		
1993 Lyle Henning	2002 Ron Bernhardt	2011 Dan Fedders	2020 John Rehmeier		
1994 Geo Gallu	2003 Carter Johnson	2012 Jamie Rick	2021 Rich Konechne		
1995 Bill Douglas	2004 Tom Dosch	2013 Dave Gaer	2022 Trudy Lickfelt		
1996 Jim Lohrenz	2005 Tim Blackstone	2014 John Rehmeier	2023 Al Schoenfeld		
1997 Jim Feller	2006 Gene Inhofer	2015 Sharon Schnepf	2024 Clyde Dybehahl		
Distinguished Service Award	Outstanding Vet	Emerging Leader Award			
First Year of Award- 2012	First Yea	r of Award - 2012	First Year of Award 2012		
2012 Wendell Peden	2012	Becky Thyen	2012 Todd Tedrow		
2013 George Twitero	2013	2013 Dustin Oedekoven			
2014 James Bailey	2014	2014 Travis White			
2015 Same Holland	2015	2015 Chanda Nilsson			
2016 Bruce Teachout	2016	2016 Rhonda Martin			

2016 Bruce Teachout 2017 Larry Carpenter 2018 Peter Preheim 2019 Steve Tornberg 2020 Julie Ann Williams 2021 Russ Daly 2022 Chris Chase 2023 Vicky Wilkey 2024 Gary Straight 2013 Dennis Lively 2014 Marlene Gannon 2015 Teanna Aduddell 2016 Rhonda Martin 2017 Nicole Wrage 2018 Sara Steiner 2019 Kim Hunt 2020 Tonya Jark 2021 Sherri Mayes 2022 Debra Buttke 2023 Paula Maddocks 2024 Beth Windwurm 2012 Todd Tedrow
2013 Dustin Oedekoven
2014 Travis White
2015 Chanda Nilsson
2016 Mark Braunschmidt
2017 Eric Knock
2018 Erica Kohler
2019 April Schilder
2020 Kayla Brown
2021 Laura Handcock
2022 Jamie Zuidema
2023 Jessica Juarez
2024 Annamarie Eick